Ex-Vice Chancellor Paul Wellings to be awarded honorary degree


The University have announced that during the summer 2014 graduation ceremonies six Honorary Degrees will be awarded. Those being awarded Honorary Degrees include Professor Paul Wellings CBE, who was Vice Chancellor of Lancaster University 2002-2012. Other Honorary Degrees are being awarded to renowned broadcaster, poet and playwright Ian McMillan and Apple Senior Vice President Bruce Sewell. The graduation ceremonies will be taking place from July 15th until July 18th, with the Honorary Degrees awarded throughout the ceremonies.

In total six Honorary Degrees will be awarded during the ceremonies. In addition to Wellings, McMillan and Sewell, Honorary Degrees will be awarded to Lancaster-based novelist Carol Birch, The Chinese University of Hong Kong’s Professor Zhang Jianhua,  and Professor Paul Boyle, the Chief Executive of the Economic and Social Research Council.

The summer graduation ceremonies take place between July 15th and July 18th, with County and Furness Colleges’ ceremonies taking place on July 15th; Grizedale and Bowland Colleges’ on July 16th; Cartmel and Fylde Colleges’ on July 17th; and finally concluding on July 18th with the ceremonies for Lonsdale and Pendle Colleges.

Professor Paul Wellings was Chancellor of Lancaster University between 2002 and 2012, when he left to join the University of Wollongong as their Vice Chancellor, being succeeded at Lancaster by current Vice Chancellor Mark E. Smith. Wellings’ tenure as Lancaster’s Vice Chancellor divided opinion, and he remains a controversial figure for some of those at Lancaster. Wellings was appointed a CBE – Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire – in 2012 for services to higher education. Wellings will be awarded his Honorary Degree on July 17th at 12pm.

Apple Senior Vice President Bruce Sewell is a Lancaster alumni, having graduated from the university with a Bachelor of Science degree in 1979. As a Senior Vice President for Apple Sewell oversees legal matters for the software giant, reporting directly to CEO Tim Cook. Sewell joined Apple in 2009, having worked for the Intel Corporation since 1995. Sewell will be awarded his Honorary Degree on July 17th at 3pm. Fellow Lancaster alumni Professor Paul Boyle and Professor Zhang Jianhua will receive their Honorary Degrees July 18th and July 16th respectively.

Ian McMillan is a poet, playwright and broadcaster, hosting the weekly show The Verb on BBC Radio 3. He will receive his Honorary Degree at 2pm on July 15th. He will be followed on the same day by Lancaster-based writer Carol Birch, who will receive her Honorary Degree on at 4:30pm. Her novels include Life in the Palace, The Frog Line and Jamrach’s Menagerie.

Similar Posts
Latest Posts from